Marriage

Today Keith and I have been married for nine years.

The traditional gift for a ninth wedding anniversary is pottery and willow. (Mighty in the ways of Google searching am I. (Sorry, Google brings out my inner-Yoda.))

We happen to be good in both the pottery and willow categories. So, for Keith’s gift I’m giving him the gift all men secretly hope for – a blog post.

(But wait. This gift gets better.)

Keith and I didn’t write our own vows nine years ago and I think it’s time. So I started to write my vows to Keith. And then … inspiration hit. I should write Keith’s vows to me. What an amazingly thoughtful, selfless gift, right? (Yes, he is a lucky, lucky man.)

So, Keith, in lieu of pottery and willow, I give you this:

I, Keith, take you, Amy, to be my lawfully wedded wife, to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, until death do us part.

I vow to kill every spider in the house without commenting on the size and/or making Amy look at it so she can learn to identify spiders.

I vow to accept that Amy does not like fish or peas. I promise never again to scoop more peas on her plate in front of the kids and say, “Look, Mommy loves her vegetables.”

I vow to put the remote back in the basket conveniently known as “the remote basket” and not place it in between couch cushions or in the pantry.

I vow to always buy Amy popcorn at the movies.

I vow to stop reminding Amy about the time she hit the babysitter’s car with my car.

I vow to always hand over the final bite of an ice cream cone to Amy as I know it’s her favorite part.

I vow to sleep with a fan on. Always.

I vow to not end compliments with, “There. How was that?”

I vow to not use ordinal directions with Amy when a “left” or “right” would do.

I vow to subscribe to Amy’s blog.

(Seriously, he changed his email and is no longer subscribed. I know. Wow.)

If life is a metaphorical journey then our marriage so far has been an extreme journey with mountains and sharks and epic quests (metaphorically speaking, of course; we haven’t had any issues with actual sharks). These nine years of marriage included three years in the interior of Alaska, three moves, three kids, two (at least!) career changes, one year in Afghanistan, and one tornado.

I’m just glad to be on this journey with you.

I love you and I can’t wait to see how we finish off our first decade together.

What vows would you like to write for your significant other?

Comments

  1. That’s great! I don’t get peas either although I don’t actually really dislike them, I just don’t see the point of trying to eat something that bounces off every time I try and stab it, especially when cooked to the point of nuked by restaurants. And as for remotes in pantry (trying to work out how), I accidentally left a permanent marker in the fridge the other time. This didn’t go down well. You’ve been through a lot but the important thing is that you’ve been through it together and you still are together so many congratulations on your anniversary. :)

  2. Congratulations on 9 years!! You’ve endured more than most and your still going strong, that makes you an inspiration.

  3. The Husband says:

    Amy,
    I’d like to add a few lines. I vow to improve my listening skills and not to jump to conclusions at the beginning of conversations. I vow to not claim ownership of the cool car (I’m not doing well with this one).
    It’s been a great nine years. I look foward to all experiences and challenges in our future. I love you.

  4. I have been reader/no commenter for awhile but figured I owed you a big “Congrats” that you have made it through all of that. Happy anniversary!

  5. I would vow to consult the Saints game schedule before making any plans in the fall.

  6. Congratulations on you’re wedding anniversary. You my dear Amy have a way with words. Just think next year (10th year) you get Diamonds!

  7. jendvoranchik says:

    Very inspiring. Thank you for all of your blogs. Congratulations too. It’s been a fun ride for me as well.

  8. Happy anniversary. I know, I’m a bit late getting around to it. This was a fun post, I hope he meant every word of it. :)

  9. Omigosh! Why am I just seeing this? I am totally stealing this for next year when hubby & I will be married for 18 years. I realize I will have to Google the traditional gifts, but still. This is brilliant. Did I thank you for being a guest blogger? I don’t think enough. You were fabulous! For reals.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

