Tea parties, missing front teeth, glitter, and Harry Potter: Perfection

“Know how to live the time that is given you.” – Dario Fo

I’ve had time on my mind lately.  There is nothing more finite.  You get 60 minutes to each hour, 24 of those in a day and that’s it – no one gets any more or less than anyone else.  Time is a great equalizer.

I planned to write tonight about being intentional in the way we spend our time, and about being aware of other people’s time because their 24 hours are just as important as ours.  But, instead, all I can think about tonight, in relation to time, are the three kids sound asleep down the hallway.

I’ve made the conflicting wishes every parent makes: to speed through a certain phase or to pause at a certain age for just a bit longer. But, ultimately, I want time to slow down and my kids to stay little until I’m ready for them to be big.

I have an eight-year old son and he still (don’t tell) occasionally cuddles with me.  It’s becoming increasingly rare and I always think to myself that this may be it – the final time he allows himself to be little enough to cuddle up with his mom.  And so I drink it in.  I can’t slow time but I slow myself to fully absorb the moment.

“The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of 60 minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is.” – C. S. Lewis

Today was a day filled with tea parties, missing front teeth, glitter, Harry Potter, dolls, Godzilla, time outs, snacks, hugs, kisses, ouches, stickers, rough-housing, whining, twirling, joke-telling, and question asking.  Today was perfect.  Today was a day I lived with my eyes opened.  I stored it away because soon, before I’m ready, those things will be replaced by other things like driver’s licenses, dating, and college applications.

I hope I remember that tomorrow.  I hope I take the time again to drink it up.  Take it in.  Slow down and be there.

Molly at play
Slow down, Baby Girl!

19 thoughts on “Tea parties, missing front teeth, glitter, and Harry Potter: Perfection

  1. Our children are adults. But we have 8 grandchildren who remind us daily how quickly it happens…that they go from 8 to 30 in a heartbeat! I have 3 children; girl, boy, girl. My oldest daughter has the same. Spending time at her house is like going back in time. Seeing her 3 is like watching my own all over again. So, be comforted knowing that the circle keeps going. (Ooo that’s not bad haha) And you’ll get to see it happen again.

  2. Amy,
    I just love this post. You are so right about the different phases…I have wished some would pass quicker than others and now that mine are bigger (12 and 9), I could kick myself for not committing more moments, sounds, giggles, screams and even tantrums to memory. Yesterday, all 4 of us played a game of basketball in the yard. It occured to me that it would be a memory for us AND the kids. Ben even talked about it this morning. This post is a great reminder to play more basketball games and cherish every basket!

    Kate

    1. Thank you, Kate!
      It’s so hard to appreciate the moment in the actual moment! Especially when my natural inclination is to think things like “I can’t wait until potty training is done,” or “if we could just have multiplication mastered!” Your basketball game sounds wonderful. And, I really enjoyed your Draggy Friday post – what a picture!

      Cherishing the baskets,
      Amy

  3. WordPress, if you’re listening PRESS THIS. Great post Amy. Seriously. I’ve never heard anyone express the thought that ‘this might be the last cuddle’ the way you did but that is so relatable, more so once you’ve had an older one move beyond that stage.
    And as someone fairly obsessed with time, you’ve got me there as well. “Take it in. Slow down and be there.” Great post.
    http://www.eduClaytion.com

  4. Hi Amy-
    I just told everyone I know that you are cuddling with your eight year old. Right after I told them that I still cuddle (daily) with my nine year old. This post is so great. Most days I try to stop time with my son with my camera–1/60th of a second that lasts forever. But I try not to take too many. Because the most important pictures we all take are in our minds.

    Also, thanks for the link to http://www.eduClaytion.com. As always my best to you. One letter at a time.

    ~Mike
    mikelamonica.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

