Awards Accepting and Addiction Admitting

My friend Wendy over at Herding Cats In Hammond River recently awarded me a Stylish Blogger Award! Ha! There is more than a bit of irony in being called stylish at this moment. In the past two weeks my kids have had only one day of school. So, I’ve been clothed unapologetically in stuck-at-home mommy clothes – clothes that could be just easily worn to bed or the gym, clothes that are definitely not stylish.

Fortunately, Wendy (as you’ll know when you check out her wonderfully eclectic blog) does not define stylish by what a person is wearing but by the words she (or he) writes. (Wendy’s pretty cool. Did I mention that?) So, with her encouragement, I sit here on my ninth snow day in a row in pants that have owls on them and a neon green t-shirt that is only fit for running or sleeping, to humbly accept the The Stylish Blogger Award.

The reward requires that I:

  • Link back to the Wendy and Herding Cats In Hammond River (as the giver of the award – the alliteration in the title is for her)
  • Name 6 other bloggers to receive the reward
  • Tell 7 things about myself.

As with most bloggers, talking about myself comes fairly easily to me. I realized this when I tried to come up with seven things I haven’t already shared. I’m starting to wonder if I share too much! Here are some you may not know:

  1. When I was in college I won free rent on my apartment for a year.
  2. I have a slightly out-of-control competitive streak. Have you ever played the game Spoons? Apparently it’s not meant to be full contact. My family has banned me from this, and some other, innocent-appearing card games.
  3. I once flipped a Honda Civic upside down into a ditch. I was fine, the car was not.
  4. I have a slight addiction to coffee and Coke Zero.
  5. I have a major reading problem. I devour books sacrificing sleep and housework when I find a good one. Lately, I’ve had to practice some self-control and have a waiting period before starting a new book. (Otherwise I’d never get out of these owl pants.)
  6. I bring my own linens and pillow to hotels. (My mom is shaking her head right now wondering why I shared that one.)
  7. I talk a lot. My husband recommended this one. At first I thought it was a bit mean of him but, upon further reflection, he’s right. I like to talk.

Now, on to the fun part! Here are the six bloggers I award with the Stylish Blogger Award.

  1. My Pajama Days is a blog I just started reading and love! She funny, relatable, and makes me either laugh or nod my head in agreement.  Her post today, Dear Friday, You are FLIPtastic! was just what I needed to read this morning.
  2. Amy over at transplanted thoughts is … well, words fail me. Just read her blog. Her post today, You’re Right – The Minion Needs His Own Blog is just hilarious as are so many of her posts. But beyond funny she faces life with bravery and resiliency. She’s an amazing mother and has truly changed my life and my perspective.
  3. Some Species Eat Their Young is the first blog I followed and still the one I read the instant he posts a new one. Laugh out loud funny.
  4. Bethwoodphotography is where I head to drink in Beth’s beautiful pictures but stay to read about her life, family, and love of photography. (She’s also taught me a thing or two about photography which I, Queen Of The Phone Camera, badly need to learn!)
  5. What first drew me to Dances with Chaos is that anyone who names her blog Dances with Chaos gets it. Her blog perfectly captures motherhood in all its glory.
  6. I just started reading On the Journey and I’m hooked. Amy writes about writing and I have so much to learn from her! She is intelligent, funny, honest, and willing to share her process. She’s also a wonderful mom, of course.

So, there it is! I am feeling more stylish than when I began this post. I think I’ll go put on clothes with buttons and a non-elastic waistband today. To my 6 award nominees, to you accept the award you just:

1. Write seven things about yourself.

2. Present the award to six bloggers.

3. Contact those people.

4. Create a link back to the person who did this to for you.

You are all awesome! Thank you for enriching my life through your words.

15 thoughts on “Awards Accepting and Addiction Admitting

  1. First, I am honored that I made your list.

    Second, like you, I am perplexed at me winning any award with the word “Stylish” in front of it – as I stand here decked out in my pale blue fleece pajama bottoms with skiing penguins and a horribly clashing too-large-for-me day glow green and other bright colors tie-dyed long sleeved T-shirt.

    And sneakers. Because my tile floor is cold. And sneakers always go with pajamas…. right?

    Then again, I think our outfits almost match. 🙂

    I don’t believe I’ve had the chance to brush my hair yet either…

    Thank you for this award for my blog writing – not my clothing.

  2. Congrats again, Amy, on your award! We have #5 in common.

    I giggled at your comment on Clay’s blog about procrastinating with your acceptance speech…I’m the Queen of the Procrastinators!

    Looking forward to checking out your list of nominees!

    Wendy

  3. Thanks, Amy, I am honored that you think so highly of me to be included in your list – luckily no snow day today, so I was required to get out of my black snoopy pj’s and actually look somewhat presentable to take the Minion to Preschool.

    The bright side of snow days – when they’re making them up and the weather is nice – you’ll have time to enjoy the beautiful weather sans the natives.

  4. One of my fellow honored mates from the Class of The Other Day When Wendy Picked Us.
    Great job. Another competitive blogger eh? Well, glad that you also walked away from a brutal car accident. Looking forward to meeting the folks you picked that I’ve yet to encounter.

  5. Hi, Amy. Crazy competitive, huh? Getting banned from spoons is admirable.

    My family is the reason that you bring your own pillows and linens.

    Thanks for mentioning SSETY. You know I think highly of your writing and your blog.

    Chase

Leave a Reply

