Prince Schmince

As our resident creative soul, six-year old Emily used some of my mom’s fabric scraps to make a headband with a pony tail about 10 feet long. Declaring herself to be Rapunzel, Emily waited at the top of my parent’s stairs and stood ready to let her “hair” fall over the railing. My parents and I watched as she instructed her eight-year old brother, David, to go down the stairs to be her prince.

Emily: “Okay, now say Rapunzel, Rapunzel let down your hair.”

David: “Rapunzel, Rapunzel give me your hair.”

Emily: “NO! Rapunzel, Rapunzel LET down your hair.”

David: “Rapunzel, let down your hair and I’ll take you to poop land.”

David was fired.

She replaced David with my father.

Emily: “Da, say Rapunzel, Rapunzel let down your hair.”

Da: “Rapunzel, Rapunzel let down your hair.”

Emily: “Um, Da. Could you say it like a real prince?”

(I can’t blame Emily. Da’s delivery was a bit weak.)

Da: “Rapunzel, Rapunzel let down your hair so I can rescue you from the tower but NOT take you to poop land.”

Da was fired. Improvisation is not appreciated by this princess.

Rapunzel came down the stairs mumbling, “I’ll just do it myself. It’s so hard to find a good prince around here.”

Do I worry about the princess phenomenon? Am I concerned that letting my daughter be a princess will let her feel like she’s overly entitled? Like the world owes her happiness, success, and beauty on a silver platter? Like there’s a prince on a white horse around every corner?

No.

Because Emily’s tiara is most often accessorized with a sword and shield. Her notions of romance with a healthy dose of “are you kidding me?” moxy. So when she asks me if she’s a princess I don’t hesitate to answer.

“Yes, baby girl, you’re my kind of princess.”

11 thoughts on “Prince Schmince

  1. Poop Land. Glad that it isn’t just our house where poop is the go-to word for amusement and shock value.

    Emily is a wonderful princess. I think that Princess Leia sort of set the bar for what that role could look like, and it sounds like Emily is out of that same mold. Leia was beautiful and gracious, yet she could also deliver some serious attitude. Plus, she was packing heat.

  2. I just came across your blog, and could not agree more with this post about the princess! All the stuff in the media about girls being ‘ruined’ by the princess culture had me freaking out about my own two girls. This post definitely reinforced my feelings that they will be fine! I loved it!

  3. I remember a comic strip where the daughter was invited to a princess party and she didn’t want to go. With the help of her dad and two bagels she went as Princess Leia and declared herself as “a fighting princess from some old-timey science movie”.

    That is who your daughter reminds me of! So no princess syndrome in your daughter’s future!
    And good on firing anyone who mentions poop-land.

Leave a Reply

