Adios 2011

If my extensive time on Facebook research is correct, New Year’s Resolutions have become a bit passé. We’re supposed to embrace the moment, love who we are today, and make changes when we see the need instead of waiting for an arbitrary date.  Amen.  That all sounds wonderful. 

But I love a good start date.  And yes, I’m a big believer in embracing the here and now but sometimes I think about the future too.  (Especially as it relates to the often maligned empty nest syndrome …)Also, I love who I am today but part of what I love is my capacity to be better (including my untapped potential to wear running shoes for the actual activity of running).  I know this will shock my husband, friends, and family but I have some areas that could possibly stand some improvement. (In actuality, I suspect my loved ones would all embrace the opportunity to write my resolutions for me.   Helpful little jerks sweethearts.)

So, without further ado, I will once again choose the less-cool path and jump on the resolution bandwagon.  Below is my list of resolutions for the year 2012:

  1. I will stop procrastinating.  The need for this resolution is somewhat evident in the fact that I’m writing these New Year’s resolutions on January 15.
  2. I will stop being all-or-nothing when it comes to working out.  There must be a middle ground between training for a marathon and counting bathing my children as an aerobic activity.
  3. I will be both more protective of and more generous with my time.
  4. I will cook more whole, healthy meals.  (There are some rumors out there that I served my kids spaghetti covered with sloppy joe sauce.  I refuse to either confirm or deny.  Although, if that meal did happen you can be sure it was in a moment of I-can’t-go-back-out-to-the-store desperation.  By the way, kids love that combination … you know … theoretically.)  Our mostly-healthy but often just adequate-with-a-side-of-highly-processed diet will be going through a gradual overhaul.  I’m sure I’ll post about it from time to time … I also promise to take pictures of any protest signs the kids (or Keith) make.
  5. I will remember the value of prayer.  I will also remember that, sometimes, God’s answer to prayers might be me.  The best prayers have feet on them. 
  6. I will learn a skill or a technique that will make me better at what I do for a living.
  7. I will write more not only because I miss it but because it helps me have perspective in my life.
  8. I will remember not to store glitter and craft glue on a shelf below five feet.
  9. I will be less judgmental.   Except when it’s regarding people who don’t use turn signals.  I reserve the right to judge them.
  10. I will plant a garden.
  11. When I feel grumpy or irritated at the world, I will talk less.
  12. As a family, we will give back.  In 2011 my kids learned about the generosity of family, friends, community, and strangers.  This year we will find ways for our kids to learn about being generous themselves.  I am very fortunate to have a job that pays me to help people.  It recharges me and snaps me awake if I ever get lost in self-pity or apathy.  My kids need to feel that kind of recharge.  They need to know that they can make a powerful difference.  The secret of service to others is that we feel most alive when we reach out to other people.  I want to let my kids in on that secret.  So this year they will learn about how they can give – with time and resources.  This is a journey I hope to post about too!

This picture was taken on January 1 in front of our new tree.  (WE HAVE A TREE AGAIN!!!)  There used to be a huge, gorgeous oak where this tree stands.  But this new tree is all ours and a constant reminder of what matters – the best things in life aren’t things, houses, trees, or vehicles.  Happy 2012 from my family to yours!

4 thoughts on “Adios 2011

  1. Happy New Year, Amy, from another procrastinator. I feel moved enough to take down the lights from the eaves, maybe, after lunch, if the sun comes out, and the wind drops, and I can find the ladder.

  2. Wishing you countless blessings in 2012. Somehow, I get the feeling those kids will have lots of community service hours listed on their college apps someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

